Getting to the Walk of Fame

Getting to the Walk of FameContemporary movies serve a similar purpose to the Nickelodeons that emerged during the time around the First World War.  They provide people with a temporary escape from reality during harsh times.  Unlike the films of yesteryear, contemporary movies require hundreds of hands working on them.  They require directors, sound engineers, cameramen, special effects engineers, and many, many more.  As one of the hardest businesses to get into, it can be beneficial to get a scholarship that can make your dream come true.  These film school scholarships can help those looking into the business achieve their goal.

Andrew F. Evans Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship is one of eight film school scholarships that Montana State University offers to students looking to major in film.  This school scholarship was established in the memory of Andre Evans, a former student of the university, who died in a tragic car accident.  It awards one student with a onetime amount of $1,500.  In order to meet eligibility requirements, students who apply must be full-time undergraduate students with a minimum GPA of 3.00+ and display devotion and promise in the field of film. (

Betty Thomas Film Award

This scholarship is offered through the Ohio University School of Film College of Fine Arts.  This school scholarship is available to female students who are in their senior year.  The purpose of this award is designed to help underwrite costs while the recipient is working on their thesis.  To qualify, students must submit a complete copy of their thesis.  Up to two students will receive this award. (

Arthur Cruickshank Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship is available to students who are studying production cinematography with a focus on special photographic effects at the University Of South Carolina School Of Cinematic Arts.  There are numerous other film school scholarships available to students which include those for studying directing, cinematography, writing, and production. (

The Slamdance Screenwriting and Teleplay Competition

While this is not exactly a school scholarship, this competition awards prizes in four categories; Feature, Short/Webisode, Horror, and Teleplay.  This competition awards $5,000 to the Slamdance grand prize winner, $2,000 to each of the winners of the Feature and Horror categories, and $3,000 to the winner of the Teleplay category.  The winner of the Short Webisode category will be offered an opportunity for the screenplay to be produced. (

ACF Arts Scholars

This is a scholarship competition sponsored by Arizona State University.  In order to qualify for this competition, student applicants must be planning on majoring in art, dance, music, or theater & film.  Applicants must also being graduating high school seniors at the time of submission, be legal US citizens, be ranked in the top 5% of their graduating class (Arizona) or have a 3.25+ GPA or have a SAT score of 1150 or a 25 on their ACT, and be admitted as an Art major with the Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts at ASU. (

Speak Your Mind